Monday, September 1, 2008

User accounts and user statuses

Every user account in EKP has a Current Status field which, as of EKP 5.5, can take one of seven possible values. Herewith, a list of the possible values, and an explanation of the usage of each.

Active
The account is available for login.
Suspended
The account is not currently available for login, but is expected to be reactivated in the future. An account can be marked as Suspended by an administrator, or automatically as a result of too many failed logins.
Account Closed
The account is not available for login, and is not expected to be reactivated in the future. However, the account will still be viewable using review and administrative functions.
Logically Deleted
The account is not available for login, and is not expected to be reactivated in the future. Moreover, the account will be hidden in most parts of the system aside from the User Editor.
Self registration user pend for approval
The account was created by a user self-registering with the system. It is awaiting approval and activation by an administrator.
Locked
The account is not currently available for login, but might be reactivated in the future. Similar to Suspended. If specified under System Configuration, accounts are automatically marked as Locked after a period of inactivity.
User Account/Records Migrated
Used to indicate that records that were previously associated with this account have been migrated to a different account. The account is effectively obsolete, but has not yet been deleted.

[This post was updated on October 28, 2010 to remove obsolete licensing information.]

Post a Comment